Fruit Raita

Hey everyone, Welcome to foodbymama- a homemaker’s guide for those who love food and cooking and basically everything about it. I try using the simplest ingredients to create finger- licking recipes for my family.

This morning, I felt like eating something beautiful to drive me away from the everyday heavy breakfasts I’ve been eating for the past one month (totally ignored my dietician’s advice!)- turns out I have no exotic fruits or seeds that make up those fancy healthy breakfasts. So I took the regular fruits, some yogurt and made a raita for myself. Raita is basically an Indian side made with whisked yogurt that is usually served with meals. And it is really flexible with ingredients- can be made sweet, salty, with fruits, veggies, whatever is easily available in the kitchen. I’ve used pomegranate seeds and apples- you can use any fruit or veggie you like or have.

foodbymama_raita

Ingredients-

Yogurt -2 cups
Pomegranate seeds – 4 tbsp
Apples (diced)-4 tbsp
Salt- to taste
Black pepper- to taste
Powdered sugar- 1/2 tsp
Milk-3-4 tbsp
How to make-

  1. Whisk the yogurt well so there are no lumps.
  2. Add sugar to the milk
  3. Add the remaining ingredients to the yogurt and milk and mix it well. Serve chilled.
Leave a Reply

