Papad ki Sabzi

Hey everyone, Welcome to foodbymama- a homemaker’s guide for those who love food and cooking and basically everything about it. I try using the simplest ingredients to create finger- licking recipes for my family.

There is a problem with every other homemaker no matter how skilled one is- “what to cook today”! I mean seriously, it takes me a while to decide what to cook everyday that doesn’t feel repetitive or boring. And additionally, the picky eating habits of my family aren’t much helpful. So today I was searching through my refrigerator and I couldn’t find a single veggie other than the regular tomatoes and chillies. Had two options- cook lentils which my husband isn’t really fond of (and to be honest, even I’m not), or find and try something new. Did a little more searching, found Papads(Papads are thin crisp dough made with lentils that is usually deep fried or roasted) and it reminded me of this cookery show I used to watch and voila! There I was trying my hands at Papad ki sabzi, which is actually fried and crushed papad in a tangy gravy (yogurt is really becoming my favorite base for gravies). And it tasted absolutely yummm-y!

So here’s how I made this simple recipe-

papad ki sabzi

Ingredients-

Papad(Papdum) – 2 (fried&crushed)
Yogurt- 2 cups (whisked)
Onions- 1(chopped)
Tomatoes- 1(pureed)
Milk-3-4 tbsp
Garlic -3-4 cloves (crushed)
Butter-2-3 tbsp (unsalted)
Cumin seeds-1/2 tbsp
Green chilli- 1-2(chopped)
Salt- to taste
Turmeric powder-1/2 tbsp
Red chilli powder -2-3 pinch
How to make-

  1. Heat butter in a pan on low flame.
  2. Add cumin seeds to the butter and when they start to splatter, add onions  and saute till they are translucent.
  3. Now add garlic and when it starts changing color,add the green chili and tomato puree to it.
  4. Next, add all the dry spices and cook till the oil leaves out.
  5. Add milk to the yogurt and pour it in the gravy.
  6. Add crushed paapad to it and mix well.
  7. Simmer it for 5-7 minutes,garnish with freshly chopped coriander leaves and serve with flat bread or rice.
Leave a Reply

