Tomato Thokku recipe

Hey everyone, Welcome to foodbymama- a homemaker’s guide for those who love food and cooking and basically everything about it. I try using the simplest ingredients to create finger- licking recipes for my family.

I actually made this recipe about a month ago and had almost written about it as well- just needed to finish it off which took me a long while and well you know, I can be really lazy at times! So, the recipe that took me such a long time to post is actually one of the simplest recipes ever (I know, such an irony)- Tomato thokku. South Indian cuisine isn’t something I’m a pro at, I actually found its recipe online. So as far as I know, Thokku actually refers to chutney- the one I made was with tomatoes, hence the name- Tomato Thokku (pretty simple logic). And it’s really amazing! I’ve actually used it with almost everything and tastes equally good.

Here’s how you can make this chutney that goes with almost everything you can imagine-

thokku-image

Ingredients-

Tomatoes- 3-4
Tamarind paste- 1 tsp(seeds removed)
Ginger- 1/2(chopped)
Urad dal (Split Black Gram) – 1 tbsp
Mustard seeds -1/2 tbsp
Cumin seeds -1/2 tbsp
Dry red chilli -1
Curry leaves -8-10
Red chilli powder -1/2 tbsp
Asafoetida -2-3 pinch
Oil- 2-3 tbsp
Salt- as per taste
Jaggery- 2-3 tbsp

How to make-

  1. Puree tomatoes with tamarind in a blender
  2. Heat oil in a pan and add mustard seeds, cumin seeds and urad dal along with red chili and ginger until the seeds start to splatter
  3. Add salt and tomato- tamarind puree to it and simmer for 4-5 minutes
  4. Take the mixture off the flame once it starts to thicken
  5. Store it in an airtight jar and refrigerate

Note-

Make sure to heat all the spices on low flame so they do not burn

Leave a Reply

