Baingan ka bharta recipe- Minced eggplant in onions and tomatoes

Hey everyone, Welcome to foodbymama- a homemaker’s guide for those who love food and cooking and basically everything about it. I try using the simplest ingredients to create finger- licking recipes for my family.
Every other post, I mention my daily struggles to convince my little one to eat healthy, try one veggie or the other. Well, here’s a little secret- even I don’t like an exceptionally healthy veggie(okay, I hated it once!). But you know there’s nothing in this world that can’t be turned into something lip-smacking. I used to hate eggplant to the extreme until my mother taught me this recipe- Baingan ka bharta, which is basically roasted and minced eggplant cooked with tomatoes and onions with loads of flavors. Traditionally, this recipe requires roasting the eggplant on coal/chulha thus adding  a smokey flavor to it( I,however, have roasted it using my air fryer only). Here’s how you can make this amazing recipe-
baingan bhartabaingan bharta
Ingredients-
Eggplant/Brinjal(Baingan) -1 large sized
Onions- 3(chopped)
Tomatoes- 3(chopped)
Green chilies- 1(chopped)
Salt- to taste
Red chili flakes- 1/2 tbsp
Garlic-2-3 cloves
Clarified butter(Ghee)-2 tbsp
Coriander leaves- for garnish

baingan bharta

How to make-

  1. Heat ghee in a pan and add chopped garlic to it.
  2. When it starts changing color, add onions to it and cook till translucent.
  3. Now add tomatoes to it with salt, green chili and chili flakes and cook it until the oil starts floating to the top and the sides of the mixture.
  4. Grease the eggplant with oil.
  5. Roast it well from all sides on high flame. Dip it in water and peel and mash the eggplant once it cools down.
  6. Mix the mashed eggplant to the onion-tomato mixture and cook for 10-12 minutes.
  7. Garnish it with some freshly chopped coriander leaves and serve.

6 thoughts on “Baingan ka bharta recipe- Minced eggplant in onions and tomatoes

Leave a comment